Home The Club Senior Cricket Junior Cricket Reports Reviews Sponsors Links

Annual Dinner & Presentations

1st Player of the Year - Phil Harris

2nd Player of the Years and Young Player of the Year - Sean Rowland

For Club, County and Beyond Laurie Thomas

For Services off the Field - Sara Russell

On the 7th November 2014, Cowbridge Cricket Club held their Annual Dinner at the Athletic Club with new caterers “Trio Outside Catering Ltd.” Over 90 members and guests were present to enjoy the food, awards and entertainment. It was good yet again to see a full table of players and our rugby friends. Guests for the evening were John Griffiths, (New Chairman of the RFC), and we wished him well in his new post.  Principal Guest was Bernard Cook along with Groundsman Tim Williams and comedian Steve Flint.

During coffee Bernard Cook presented the season’s awards:

The”H” trophy

1st XI Player of the Year - Phil Harris.

The JSW Williams Salver

2nd XI Player of the Year – Sean Rowland.

The CH Adams Shield

Young Player of the Year – Sean Rowland.

The Peter Finucane Catch it Trophy

Mike Lloyd.

The Ben Wright Trophy

For Club, County and Beyond – Laurie Thomas.

The Trustmark Trophy

Services off the Field – Sara Russell (Junior Co-ordinator)

Following the awards the Chairman introduced the guests.

Sam Cook has been involved with the Club for over 40 years. He captained the “extra” XI between ’64 and ’70 as well as being Groundsman at the time. He worked in the local grammar school as caretaker before moving on to employment at the Aberthaw Power Station. He remained loyal to the Club working as groundsman to both the rugby and cricket clubs. He helped to build the squash courts and then became part-time cleaner to the Athletic Club, including the squash courts. He has recently retired through health problems. All sections of the Athletic Club, especially the cricket section, wish to thank him for his time, effort, dedication and loyalty over so many years.

 Having deputised for many years as vice chairman, John Griffiths became the new Chairman of the Rugby Club. He has had a long playing career mainly for Glamorgan Wanderers and finishing with Cowbridge. He was capped at U15’s for Welsh Schools and represented the County and Crawshays teams. I am sure that he will continue the close links with the cricket section that was always in evidence with Lyn Thomas – the previous Chairman of 41 years. We wish Lyn a happy retirement whilst extending John our best wishes for a long and successful stint.

Tim Williams our Groundsman has worked tirelessly over the years in making our ground and square the envy of many South Wales clubs. The playing surface is improving annually with higher and truer bounce of the ball which was demonstrated when both Tom Merilaht and Ben Wright scored centuries on the same Saturday. Well done Tim.

In his Chairman’s speech Hugh Williams gave a resume of the season. It was disappointing that the 1st XI did not gain promotion to the First Division. After a very bright start, whilst we struggled to maintain a strong 2nd XI each and every Saturday. However, thanks were offered to both Captains Tom and Jonty for their effort and hard work. The junior section under the guidance of Sarah Russell goes from strength to strength with the U 11’s, reaching the cup final of the league losing narrowly to Radyr. He thanked all the coaches and all the parents of the various teams for their support and hard work. The newly established mid week T20 team became an instant success, also reaching the final. It was good to see some old players returning to play for the club in an enjoyable environment.

While the hard working committee has ensured financial stability, the road ahead is not an easy one. He pointed out that the game is not attracting youngsters due to length of games, travelling time and lack of participation. The England and Wales Cricket Board must address these issues sooner rather than later, and irons are in the fire already.

Catch- It Trophy - Mike Lloyd

Player recruitment is essential for our club and we must maintain our 15 year old players in the game. Our philosophy for 2015 is to get all our youngsters more involved in all matches in an enjoyable environment.

We thank Jeff Davies our second team scorer for his loyal support while the first team needs to find a permanent scorer. We thank David Lloyd and some of the committee for helping out last year but this is an issue we must address.

The chairman concluded that “We look forward to 2015 Season and the Club’s 175th anniversary. Work is well underway to make this a memorable season. Let’s hope we can field sides worthy of representing the club in this special year. This is a club steeped in cricket history and has a proud and successful tradition.”

Hugh Williams (Chairman)